Studded tire options in late 2023

I’d like to put studded tires on my gravel bike which has clearance for up to 45mm tires. In the past I might have gone with Nokian but they don’t seem to be selling tires in the US anymore (or perhaps at all?) There’s also the Marathon Winter Plus which I have on my cargo bike. It does the job but I was curious what else was out there.

Oh, I could go unstudded and pretend I’m doing cx but a couple of years ago I hit an ice patch going at low speed and was off the bike for a couple of months probably due to a bone bruise. I know some people don’t like studs but I prefer the margin of safety.

Anyone have a favorite studded tire? Seems the options have changed recently.

1 Like

Continental has the Contact Spike with either 240 or 120 studs. The widths are 37 and 42 mm, if I am correct. I don’t own a bike for such winter tyres any more, so I have no personal experience of them. I think that some people have succesfully used the contis as tubeless too.

The ultimate winter tyre is of course the Schwalbe Ice Spiker Pro with its 400 studs. Only available as 57 and 65 mm though.

1 Like

Long time winter commuter here in Alaska. I use the 45 Nrth Gravdal 60 TPI studded tires in size 700CX38mm (tubeless) on my Trek Checkpoint. I went with 38 mm to keep fenders on the bike. I’ve used them for over 600 miles of riding until the roads get so bad that I switch over to a fat tire bike. They aren’t fast and there is a significant weight penalty, but in the shoulder season in fall and spring in Alaska they are worth it to stay upright on two wheels with the rubber side down.

I found studding them yourself, stud capable, is the lest expensive way to get there. Dillinger 5’s have A Lot Of Studs. But four years later, I haven’t lost a single one yet! Just take your time doing it. (Yeah, it’s a PITA, but worth it)