Speedplay pedals for a newbie? (asking for a friend)

Hey guys and gals. Asking for a friend (actually my 15 yo son). :slightly_smiling_face:

He’s started to get into road cycling. He’s pretty much my size (actually about an inch taller now at just over 6’) so I set him up on my old road bike (winter bike) with flat pedals. He’s thinking of taking the leap to clipless now.

I personally run Look style pedals (Assoima Duos) and I have some spare sets of Look Keo pedals kicking around, but I’m concerned about the learning curve with the single sided entry on the Looks. I’m thinking of maybe getting him some Speedplay Zero pedals to get started as he figures out how to use clipless. I like the dual sided entry, micro-adjustability fore-aft/side-side and float “forgiveness” as he figures out his natural pedaling foot motion. Hard to get him a bike-fit in these troubled times, as you can imagine.

Anyway, I have zero (ha) experience with these pedals, but looking for feedback from the community from people who do if these are a suitable pedal for a newb to clipless.

Cheers

Seems unnecessary. I’d have him go straight to the hand-me-down Looks.

15 years is not young. He can figure it out. The learning period for him should be a matter of hours.

4 Likes

Personally for me learning to clip into speedplay pedals was much harder then when I first started off with single sided shimano pedals as I strugled to step accurately onto the speedplay every time. I only changed to them for a bike fit reason really in the end, so personally id just start on the look pedals as it will also save you a decent amount of money.

I really like the double sided feature of Speedplay, especially not having to look down at the pedal to clip in. Rode with Shimano SPD-SL for many years and don’t miss them.

I’d stick with one pedal system as well.

If you let him, he could always ride wit( power on your pedals on the trainer or as a hand me down later.