Should I build my own Tarmac?

I’m most likely going to buy a new bike in the spring, but I’m having some issues when it comes to locking in the finer details. I looking at the Tarmac and the Venge, probably going with the Tarmac. The issue I’m having is that I’m really short and my geometry is just plain weird. A 49cm get me close but then I need shorter cranks and I want a 38cm handlebar. So if I buy a new bike I’m immediately fiddling with cranks and installing powermeters and new handlebars and a couple other things, am I better off just buying a tarmac frame and building the darn thing myself? The other thing that makes this attractive to me is the financial aspect, I can pay cash as I go over four months and lessen the odds of my wife having a coronary when she sees the grand total. I’m a compulsive researcher so I’ll be diving into this in depth, but does anyone else out there have some experience buying a new bike when you don’t fit nicely into generic sizing?

Whenever I have looked at specialized frames the thing that shocked me was the price. They seem very spendy compared to the full bike. At least here in the UK.

I’ve just ordered a new frame myself and before I pulled the trigger I worked out what components I wanted and costed them out at current prices, totalled them up and checked if I could get any where near it with an off the shelf bike and it was a struggle. A lot of reselling of parts would need to happen especially when you add in crank based power meters etc…

That’s what I’m afraid of, that the sum of the parts will be more expensive than off the shelf. I believe though, that if I buy off the shelf I’m still going to be spending money to get a good fit anyway, so I need to see where it washes out. I should have just kept to golf.

3 Likes