Seeking help… Conti gp5000 tubeless tires & hunt wheels

Has anyone been able to mount continental GP 5000TL tires on to hunt wheel sets? This is my first time trying a tubeless setup and I’ve spent the better part of 3 hours and some really raw hands trying to get the second tire bead over the rim. I reckon I shouldn’t have to be trying to put a metric ton of force to get it to slip over the top…

Is there any trick? I’m pushing the tire bead down into the center well, but for the life of me can’t get the second bead over the top.

Everyone that I know that has Hunt wheels set up tubeless has them combined with 5000TLs, including me. They are a little tight but that also seems to make them a good seal. The once I’ve needed a tyre worm a hand pump re seated them and I rarely need to top them up. For me even with hands that were destroyed during chemo it wasn’t too bad. I just needed to work around the rim a few times and use a plastic lever reversed to lift the last bit over the rim (there’s no tube to pinch). IIRC Now the chemo is out of my body the last time I fitted the rear (last summer) I didn’t need the tyre lever but had to work the tyre round into the tyre well a few times before it popped over.

I always use two plastic tyre levers to pop the last bit over.

Also do this at the valve - if the valve is somewhere else, it’ll stop the bead going into the rim well at that point.

I can’t quite see from your pic, but the other bead (the other side of the tyre) is also fully in the rim well?

I don‘t see it mentioned, but heat can help sometimes. Leave the setup in the sun to warm, or use a hair drier on low or med around the tire.

Aim is to get the tire more pliable and slightly longer to allow just enough more movement to get over the rim.

Ditto the comments above regarding heat and making sure you end at the valve :+1:

They are known to be pretty tight tyres also.

1 Like