Replacing Pedals

I’m going to replace my Shimano r500 pedals. They have like 5 years or more.

It’s worth upgrading to r7000 o r8000 pedals?

I’m an amateur, social rides, I train 4-5 times per week and do around 7000-8000 km per year.

Depends on what your definition of “worth it” is. But I’d say you’d be hard pressed to find any functional or performance differences.

One guy I met bought a beautiful, expensive new BMC road bike, but he put his ratty 12±year old 105 pedals on it. It was hideous. When I asked him, he merely said “They still work perfectly fine, why replace them?” I couldn’t do that.

So if your pedals work fine, you don’t have to replace them. But you still could.

Maybe I’m just too much of a cheapskate, but I’ve gotten so close to replacing my ratty 12 yr old 105 pedals and I just can’t. They still spin fantastically, I think serviced once in that time, and I feel like it’s $100 that’s just lit on fire.

3 Likes

If I had a nickel every time I asked myself this question re: cycling gear…

In 20 years of road cycling I can count the number of road pedals I’ve had.

One pair of Wellgos I broke when I was 15
One pair of Look Deltas that took me through Junior and Espoir.
One pair of Look Keo’s that took me through a decade at least and are still used in the winter.
One pair of Look Keo Carbon Blades I’m using now that I bought because I was feeling fancy and needed a second pair.

Firmly in the “if it ain’t broke…” column for me.

2 Likes

But the only time you see the pedals is
When they’re not actually being used. Otherwise the a shoe is over them

2 Likes

The only thing I’ve found wearing on Shimano pedals is the tongue, where the front of the cleat engages. Proper high milers can get a bit worn from unclipping, especially if you do a lot of city / stop start riding.