Ramp test failure: muscular vs lungs/heart rate?

Hi! I’m new to TrainerRoad and just started cycling a few months ago. I just did my second Ramp test ever yesterday.

On my first test, I kept my cadence around 90, which eventually led to a “can’t pedal any longer” feeling until I finally fell into the ERG spiral of death. My legs were burning so much (and sore for a while) because of the effort at the end was mostly muscular, and I’m not very strong. My heart and breathing increased considerably, but that’s not what made me stop. I just couldn’t move my legs at the end.

On my second one, I decided to pedal faster and kept my cadence around 100. I got to failure because I was simply breathing too hard and my heart nearly hit my max (200) for the last couple of minutes. I noticed my legs were feeling fresh about half an hour after the test and, unlike the previous attempt, no soreness the day after. This time I failed because I simply couldn’t breath any faster for any longer, I guess?

I’m still learning about my ideal cadence and pedalling, so I’m confused on what I should aim for to make the test work best for me without cheating or not doing my best.

Thanks!

There’s nothing wrong with 90-100rpms. You are in the right range. You’ll get stronger. Split the difference and try 95 next time.

2 Likes

With time your legs will get strong and lower cadence will be there. With time you will become better at using oxygen and you will be able to spin high cadence for a longer time. With time you will get better at shuttling metabolic byproducts (what people mean by lactic acid) and you will be able to go harder for longer. We all have dues to pay in the form of suffering and the reward is performance. No short cuts, just more glorious suffering doing what we all love.

4 Likes

Question: Muscular or cardiovascular failure on a ramp test?
Answer: Yes.

18 Likes