Raising cadence

Hi guys. I’m finding that my natural cadence is around 75. If I raise it to 85+ my legs seem to tire. I know that sounds backwards.

I’ve been using traineroad for 5 months now. Is there a disadvantage to settling at this lower cadence. I an coming from long course triathlon point if view. How do yours compare?

IMHO, depends on your goals. If you plan to race, I think you would need to up the cadence and be comfortable to average 85-95, with well controlled bumps into 100+.
At low cadence you rely on high torque and it is ok for steady flat efforts, however in rapidly changing pace in the race, low cadence is too slow to react, this can drain the legs quick.
I had to specifically train for higher cadence to get comfortable at it, it means doing workouts at higher rpm than comfortable.

I’m sure more advice is coming your way!

1 Like

Cadence is personal/specific. What feels good for me, might be different for you.

If you simply want to learn how to spin faster in all conditions, buy a cheap set of rollers and learn to ride them. I think I generally spin in the low-90’s for ‘noodling around’ and high-90’s ‘when it matters’. Of course getting >100 ‘when it really matters’.

I’m too old to hit the 130’s or something nuts, but I do have consistency in the 90’s which I attribute to working on rollers.

Cadence is personal/specific but it’s possible, and it’s better, to raise it if you plan to race GF.
in my experience, however, it takes time: you can not raise the cadence of 10-15RPM in a few months and, if you do, you’ll probably have problems
it’s a much longer process with a gain of a few average RPMs each year

I’m a mountain biker and when I started TR over a year ago my natural cadence was around 80. After loosely following the workout text suggestions for a year my natural cadence is more around 90-92 now and I’m happy spinning at 110, even 120. Even managed a new max of +180 :smile: