Question on ERG mode

Hi all

I have been using TR since a couple of years now and completely satisfied with it, except for the mode of ERG. I am currently doing the Base phase and I don’t seem to understand how I can choose a preferred gear while using ERG.

In the past my chain was on the small chainring in front and one of the larger cogs in the back. However in one of the olther treads on this forum I read that you should simulate outdoor rides where i mostly ride on the big chainring in front. When changing to the big chainring in front in ERG mode, my power rises, and where i would expect that the software would start to match target to power, nothing happens. I tried to re-calibrate my trainer, re-installed it etc but I cannot seem to figure out, how to match riding in the real life situation vs inside without riding on the smaller chainring.

probably worthwile to mention, I am riding a Tacx Flux 2.

I also use this model of trainer.

Before I start my TR workout, I adjust my gearing. I’m always in the big chainring (up front) and middle of the cassette (out back). I believe that a straight chain line is important with regards to reducing friction and general chain wear.

Once the workout has started, I DON’T change gears. Whilst I don’t pretend to fully understand the mechanical side of ERG, I believe that changing gears can cause the trainer to struggle with the required resistance changes. Going from the small chainring to the large chainring (during a workout), unless you’re in a recovery phase, must really confuse the unit.

1 Like

The whole point of ERG mode is that you shouldn’t have to change gear, if you want to change cadence for the required power output just pedal faster/slower and allow the trainer time to adjust the resistance accordingly.

Changing gears will just cause the trainer to struggle to make the required resistance adjustments to get your power to where the workout wants it.