Question for the tubeless experts

I’m new to tubeless, having taken the plunge with a new wheel-set for my road bike.

My choice was influenced by the very positive feedback from some riding buddies.

Wheels are 23mm internal width Bontragers, hooked rims in carbon.

Trusted LBS set them up with 28mm wide Continental GPS5000 ‘s’ tyres. I supplied the tyres and the Stans Race sealant they used. I noticed they didn’t appear to have used the tape that came with the wheels but it seemed did use the circular plastic strip that came with the wheel instead. I didn’t ask (I know I should have) why / if they maybe used their own tape.

I was intending to do it myself as I enjoy doing my own bike maintenance/ work and have the right tools but I don’t have access to a compressor and after reading up on the GP5000 related challenges people have had I decided to go the lazy route and get my LBS to do it.

All looks fine and no obvious signs of any leaks yet.

My question is around deflation over time. I haven’t had a ride on them yet as I want to wait for better weather before christening them on the road.

I inflated to 72psi rear and 68psi front, based on the guidance from a couple of on-line pressure calculators. (I’m 94kg at the moment).

Within 48 hours the pressures had dropped noticeably in both wheels. A further 24 hours saw a smaller but still noticeable drop. Track pump this morning showed 35psi in one and 30psi in the other (I forget which was which).

Is this normal for newly set up tubeless wheels? Will it improve after a bit of use?

Thanks in advance. :+1:t2:

1 Like

Yes and yes.

Maybe what you are seeing is towards the more extreme pressure loss range but I wouldnt worry.

1 Like

Yes - usually it takes a little while for the tyres to completely seal on the rim and a few rides usually sorts it. Generally tubeless do deflate faster over time than tubed wheels as well, but if you check them frequently its unlikely to be an issue

4 Likes