Post Covid recovery plan

Hi I am looking for some science based advice to help me restart my training. The day after a ramp test ( boosted my ftp fro. 247 to 259) as part of week 7 of my training plan, I tested positive for covid. This was almost 3 weeks ago. Am feeling 90% recovered but as a 53 year old male I want to err on the side of caution. Some options I am considering include taking a few weeks off training completely, and instead just walk the dog a couple of hours a day. Or start a new low volume program, accepting my ftp might have slipped somewhat. Or give it another week and then pick up where I left off.
Welcome any thoughts…thanks

1 Like

There’s some threads on this around here. My advice, take it VERY easy for a while. Short, easy rides. You don’t want to find out you had myocarditis after a hard interval session.

2 Likes

Got to be lead by your doctor on this.

When she or he thinks youre ready Id look at Active Recovery sessions first.

1 Like

I am not a doctor so please don’t take this as medical advice.

I was in the same position, post Covid. I’m just shy of 40. I felt fine 8 days after onset of symptoms, but following some stories of bad experiences on here, decided to be cautious and get medical advice.

I had some bloodwork done; FBC, troponin, D-dimers, as well as an ecg. I had to go private for this (I’m in the UK, and my NHS GP described the request as ‘unnecessary’).

Everything came back normal/as expected (white blood cell types consistent with recent mild infection) so the doc (who was a cyclist, interestingly) cleared me to return to training, with the caveat that I was to listen to my body, save the ‘hero’ stuff for 2 weeks, and to call him if I had any unexpected symptoms following, or reactions to, training.

4 rides/sessions in, the last 2 fairly hard, and so far so good.

I can’t speak for anyone else but that’s my take on it.

2 Likes

From the BBC with a link to the NHS

“ What should I do if I think I have long Covid?