Pacing my first 24 hr solo with power meter and heart rate?

New to using a power meter on my mtb bike and road bike.wondering best way to pace a 24 hr solo.would using my power meter help with that? I’m new to using power so please explain in detail thanks for the help.

after about 10ish hours, it will be just off feel, HR and power won’t line up with anything you are use to after that. Use it to shoot for and IF of ~.7 for the first 6-8 hrs and then let it decay from there.

3 Likes

Taylor Lineed talks about this in the Successful Athletes podcast -

In summary he notes that once you’ve been training for a while with a PM then you have a feel for what sort of power you are producing.

Generally for endurance events, I’d work from RPE. For something like a 24hr event go at a pace that you can hold a conversation at - even if you are on your own! That will feel very slow at the start but you’ll be grateful for doing so later in the race. There’ll be some sections where that’s hard to do due to the terrain but when that happens you really need to be disciplined not to put the hammer down.

2 Likes

I’m fairly new to using a PM too, but even after a few weeks of Sweet Spot intervals on the trainer at about 90% FTP, I can now sit comfortably at 90% FTP for a few minutes on a climb without even realising it.

As bobw said, start off WAY too easy. You won’t win a race in the first hour (or corner/minute/lap/half/whatever), but you can certainly ruin it there. You’ll want to crank it up but you’ll thank yourself later if you don’t. When I did my first marathon I thought I started easy but it wasn’t easy enough and I hit the wall hard at mile 22.

Learn to ride on feel, you’ll do better in the long run.

In this scenario I think that the power meter is best used to keep yourself from going too hard, in particular at the beginning of the race and on climbs. For a 24 hour event I’d advise keeping it under .65 IF.

1 Like