Moving through the pack in a race

What is the trick, or underlying method/thinking for moving around in the pack in a race?

I’m pretty new to racing (and obviously done none this season) but one of the things which i worry about when watching the various Norcal videos or TR race analysis videos is how to safely move about in the pack.
For instance - Do you need to look over your shoulder and signal every time you move an inch or 2 to one side or the other or does the whole thing work like a shoal of fish and, as long as you don’t suddenly swerve, you just put your bars where you want them to be and it’s a matter of everyone takes care of themselves?
What’s going though your mind in the pack? does it become 2nd nature pretty quick? How about when the hammer is down and you’re working really hard and you get tunnel vision?

2 Likes

I have also wondered this.

Should i pay attention to the wheels behind me? I assume ideally people won’t be “half wheeling” you anyway but do I need to consider the line of people behind me if i want to move left/right? Is it the person behind me’s duty to react to my movement themselves?

I’m sure there is a standard “don’t be a douche” unwritten rules and I shouldn’t change course unpredictably or suddenly but apart from that can i do what i want?

Really, you’re responsible for your front wheel. You can’t really control what others are doing behind you, and they should also be focused on and controlling their own wheel. So don’t worry too much about what’s going on behind, but yes don’t make any harsh moves especially in a tight bunch. A periphery glance should usually spot if there is a gap to move into, and whether anyone is already moving into that spot. Sometimes a little hand signal can help, but it’s usually not necessary.