Low volume plan: 3 60 min sessions/week Ok for meaningful results?

I’m new to TR. I’ll use it primarily in winter when outdoors isn’t an option. I can’t find myself effectively doing structured riding outdoors or opting to be indoors when the weather is nice.

If I can fit 3 sessions of 60 mins per week in using adaptive training plan per week, how effective should it be? I don’t have specific event goals as I don’t race, so unsure how to program that piece when I setup my plan. Is there just kind of a constant build option for 4 or 5 months? I’ll be in good shape when I start from all the summer riding so don’t want the program to be too much base early. I don’t think.

1 Like

If you come from no structured training background, even 3 hrs a week will be very effective.

If you have no goal event, just set a fictitious one for 5 months from now.

4 Likes

Seconded. You should see substantial gains.

1 Like

You basically described that if you don’t do TR you will not train as much or as effectively. I imagine TR will be a big benefit relative to your baseline, as others have mentioned.

How much are you riding now? If you’ve been riding 8 hours a week unstructured all summer and then go to 3 hours per week you’ll probably lose fitness. It just depends on where you are starting from.

On the other hand, if you do ride 3 hours per week consistently all winter you’ll have a lot in the bank that you can build on it the spring rather than starting from zero.

Just because your TR plan is for 3 hours per week, you can’t still add in some extra endurance rides. It would be wise if you want top fitness. Other options are to lift weights and go cross country skiing every weekend. There are many ways to skin the fitness cat.

2 Likes

I don’t think that’s the case. At best 8 hours of unstructured riding will give @kosmo886 a good aerobic base, but it can also be lots of wasted kilometers because he’s riding in Z3.