Knee trajectory while pedaling

Hey there,
I noticed that the trajectory of my left knee is a bit…unstraight.

( see photorealistic drawing below )

This is a front view.
My right knee is not perfectly straight, but nothing significant.
On the other hand, my left knee starts to go outside on the up stroke, and inside in the down stroke.
Though it gets messier the more watts I produce.
If I go harder, the pattern at that top gets more chaotic, like my knee doesn’t know where to go before the down stroke.

Any ideas on what kind of problem would cause this?
Cleat position? Saddle position? Hips imbalance?

I plan to go do a bike fit if it becomes a problem.

PS : I’ve been cycling for 4 years with no problem, 2 years and a half with my current bike, but got left knee problems the last two months ( patella tendon inflamation, but it’s healed and I don’t feel pain anymore )
Maybe the pain and this problem are linked

• All of the above, and add in stuff like prior injuries, general range of motion issues, physical abnormalities or asymmetries, and the list goes on.
  • That is all you can really do. It’s impossible to give any meaningful guidance with so little info, especially not seeing you actively on the bike.

Generally speaking, people will have a potential of having these types of “imperfections” but may well be getting along fine in spite of them. As a fitter I might see something like that and the main question to start with is “Is this really a problem?”.

In the spirit of the Do no harm ethos, I tend to only tackle stuff like this if I feel it is linked to an actual pain, injury, or comfort issue presented by the rider. That in mind, unless you know you are having issues, I sure wouldn’t suggest chasing it as an issue on your own. If you end up with a fit session for any reason, certainly mention and discuss it with them. Then you two can decide how to address it, if you do at all.