Is all TSS the same?

First some background. I’m a 52 YO guy and have been riding bikes regularly about 7-8 years now. I’ve been racing for about 2-3 years, and this is my second year with Trainerroad. Last year I nearly completed traditional base mid-volume, got sick and crashed and burned. STILL in many ways I was a stronger cyclist when racing season came around. BTW I’m a cat 5 in road and CX.

This year I started off again with traditional base mid-volume completed the first two months 100% and then a buddy finally convinced me to move to Sweet Spot Base. So using the plan builder I redid my training from scratch and started off with SSB mid-volume 1.

All was going well, but then I noticed major body-ache on Mondays – you know the type one has while undergoing full blown sickness. I took the Tuesday off and then was again ready on Wednesday (yeah for the short endurance workout). The week would go fine and then repeat itself. Or some close variation of skipping workouts and resuming a full schedule to repeat. You get the point, with SSB1 I am not at 100% compliance (and yes I know the goal is NOT to achieve 100% compliance but to finish on the lead lap of the upcoming criterium season).

The question hinted at in the subject is this. With Traditional base I was racking up more TSS than what was planned in SSB, but the SSB work wreaked way more havoc on my body than the traditional base workout plan. So, do two workouts with identical TSS but different intensities affect fitness and fatigue in the same manner? My guess is (based on n=1) no they don’t and that TSS like so many other calculations and measures is imperfect.

To address this, I’m opting for Sweet Spot Base II – low volume. I can always add in workouts and feel like a boss rather than skip workouts and feel like a loser.

Ahhh, Trainerroad – my rise and shine frienemy!

1 Like