Indoor trainer without mains help needed

I work in the offshore industry and have now been told I’ve got a new placement on a boat. The boat is lacking room inside to set up a trainer. The only real option I have is to set it up somewhere that there is no power supply and I don’t think the crew be eager to help me get power to my new pain area. So that leads me to a trainer that doesn’t require mains power. Has anyone got any recommendations for such trainers. Internet is a no go so it just need to be compatible with trainerroad so I can get my lycra fix.

Thanks,

Ben

1 Like

i am pretty sure the tacx neo doesn’t need a main power supply

It (Tacx Neo) does not (need power). Haven’t tested extensively, the behavior is a little weird when you’re starting or stopping in unpowered mode, but it works.

You could also use dumb trainer + power meter.

Kinetic Road Machine Fluid trains is “dumb” and requires no power. The latest versions offers a virtual power Inride sensor, or you can add/use a bike power meter.

As mentioned, the Tacx Neo can be run with no external power. That and the older Tacx Bushido are the main ones available for smart control.

Jet Black offers one AFAIK, but I don’t know the model or availability.

3 Likes

You still need internet somehow to at least download the TR workout - afaik you can load a workout while you have internet, and then take it to where you don’t.

I’d go dumb trainer + power meter personally, you don’t really need ERG mode for training and without internet, you won’t be zwifting anyway.

2 Likes

I work in O&G too. Tacx Neo will do the job but it is 20kg. Will they allow it on the boat and platform?

1 Like
  • Assuming you load the TR app when wireless access is available, it will pull all the existing workouts from the library. You can run any of those workouts, without the need to be connected to wireless.

• You DO need wireless access in order to upload the files to the TR web and calendar services though.

1 Like