Increasing resting heart rate over time

I’ve been using TR for a couple years. I also have a couple years worth of HR data from my Apple Watch. Over the last couple years I’ve noticed my resting heart rate gradually climb up from about 54 to 60 bpm. Am I just getting older? Will turn 45 start of next year.

I know there are tons of variables but I feel like my training, sleep, etc have all remained fairly consistent. from 2019-20 I didn’t rest a lot during the off season. I felt a bit burned out by the end. for the 2020-21 season I rested quite a bit more and felt pretty darn good this last season. But lately I feel like my HR is getting to high too early in my workouts. Like I’m doing SS working but getting to 90-95% of max HR instead of hitting that HR when I’m doing harder workouts with over under intervals etc.

I’m back to the off season now and won’t start hitting it hard again until February or so. In the mean time just ride for fun, do an occasional train now workout when I feel like it etc, lift weights, etc.

Just wondering if I should ignore this gradual HR change or not in the mean time.

I actually thought it was the opposite it decreased by age but according to this we were both wrong.

I’ve found conflicting information. IDK who to believe. Some sources say it increases, some say it decreases and some say there isn’t any effect lol.

1 Like

Well…does that mean when I was young and physically fit at 18 my heart rate which tended to be in the low 70s really wasnt my heart rate? I was a runner in those days, half mile to 10k. At age 55 I started riding after years of inactivity after getting a major couple of surgeries that gave me my life back. Three years later my resting heart rate was around 45. Current age is 61 with a heart rate in the 44-47 range.

Not really sure how my sample size=1 impacts this.