HR Fitness Cadence

Hi, I am new to TrainerRoad and I’ve been cycling for around 4 years. I’m up to week 11 of base phase. Current FTP is 164 and watts/Kg is 3.09
It used to be that I would reach close to my maximum HR (183) in a really tough work out and that would finish me.
Today I completed Warlow +2, it was tough for sure but my HR maxed at 168 although legs were fried. My cadence averaged 95 - 105 rpm.
Is this the expected progression of developing fitness. Is my cadence too high?

Generally when improving fitness, you’d expect to be able to produce more power at the same HR, so this could well be a fitness gain, congrats!

However you have to be a bit careful when interpreting HR - it can be affected by many things, for example higher temperature will lead to a higher HR, while dehydration leads to a lower HR. Also when you get tired, that often shows in your HR not going up as far or as quickly as you’re used too. (On the other hand, your resting HR might be elevated with sickness).

Regarding cadence - just ride at whatever feels good to you, research has shown that a “self-selected” cadence is often the most efficient. Generally though a higher cadence puts more stress on the cardiovascular system (so would lead to a higher HR), while a lower cadence puts more stress on the muscles.

1 Like

Another variable is time. If you were maxing at 183bpm 4 years ago you could fully expect (all things like for like) to be maxing at 179bpm now.

I wouldn’t worry about your cadence though, FWIW I cycle about the same indoors but lower outdoors, just do what is natural.