How to include 1min rest every 10min in workouts (to manage chronic compartment syndrome - cleared to workout)

I am new to trainerroad, I have chronic compartment syndrome but I am cleared to cycle and strength train as long as I manage my symptoms. The best method I have found for managing during cycling is to ride indoor and do 9min on 1min off. The 1min rest gives time for compartment pressures to drop and that staves off symptoms during cycling.

Would it be best to just have the workout auto pause for the off time? How would this affect longer intervals, like sweet spot or threshold? Do you have any other suggestions for managing this?

That’s how I’d do it if I were in your shoes.

I wouldn’t worry about that. Training is optimization under constraints and dealing with your chronic illness is just one constraint.

You can create your own workouts, too. Pausing at 9 minutes in a 10 minute interval multiple times would be a pain, as an example. I’d be tempted to find some I like and just create a workout using the parts I like with the breaks you need.

And also have a catalog of TRs workouts that work for you to substitute when TR gives you a workout that won’t work, and just tweak the resistance to make sure you get the intensity you need for progressive loading.

1 Like

I don’t know the syndrome, do you need to get off the bike entirely?

No, I’m cleared to cycle and strength train.

Um, possibly not a popular opinion, being this is about TrainerRoad, but that is what I like about Zwift.

I can make a custom workout to do what I want, how I want. Perhaps Trainerroad needs to become more flexible, allowing people to create (or edit) their own pain sessions. Although it might be hard to feed into the whole Trainerroad back-screen system to parse the workouts, and advise on where to go next.