How To Get Into Racing?

I started cycling ~2 years go and just started structured training (and TR) about two months ago. My goal is to start doing road races and stage races starting next season. I have never done organized riding before so I figured I would start off doing century rides and Gran Fondos just to get used to the white noise that comes with a cycling event.

My impression is these events are typically sanctioned by US Cycling which is the umbrella organization for state specific cycling organizations and I will need to get some sort of racing license.

How should I approach this? What are some tips? What should I know? What are some dos/don’ts. Should I just do it? I currently have AT set to Rolling Road Races set for one year out with no events added yet. I am looking forward to starting this next chapter of my life but other than finding a local race and just signing up I have no clue what I should do: or is that just it?

Join a local bike club - one with a racing team.
Do their group training rides.
Get a racing license now (USA cycling).
Look on the calendar and pick some races.
Or pick some fondos as well and put those on your calendar.
Do local training races if they are available.
Yes, “just do it”.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. In terms of find a bike club with a racing team: are they typically inclusive or more exclusive in terms of who they let join/race? Naive question but I am totally new to the culture of amateur racing.

In every club/team I’ve been on, everybody was welcome to race with the club jersey. Only higher level racing teams are selective.

2 Likes

Reall depends on the team…some are very open and inclusive. Others are “bro clubs”. Check with your local shop for recommendations. They can usually give you some inside scoop.

And don’t be afraid to bail on one group if it doesn’t work for you…just make sure you give it enough time to be sure, though.