How to Drink When Racing Gravel

Ok…so I have been riding gravel for 2 years now and I consistently have dehydration issues because I can’t figure out how to drink. I’m not sure if it’s a lack of confidence in my handling, the constant changing in terrain, or a collection of different things. I’ve tried the hydration pack an that helps a little bit but has not solved the issue.

I’ve been riding/racing road bikes for 13 years and I NEVER have had issues with dehydration.

So my question is…what’s your secret? Do you just smash in as my fluid as possible when on road and tame gravel? What if there are multiple single track sections separated by very little road? I had this experience a week ago and I really struggled to figure out how to drink and went 45min without taking a sip. So PLEASE, dumb this down for me.

Shorter races or less technical ones I have 0 issue drinking from bidons. Longer or more technical I use a camelback style setup. Easy to pop the straw in and sip for a bit even on super technical terrain.

1 Like

I do this too. Bottles most of the time, drink when it’s not crazy bouncy. USWE on zone 4 gravel. It’s even easier if your bite valve has a magnet so you can put it just below your mouth.

2 Likes

I just realized this now - I could put the magnet on the chin strap of my helmet instead of the chest strap. Is that easier to use during a race/technical terrain?

What is this magic you speak of?

It would drive me nuts on the chin strap, but you do you!

Here’s one example: