Grinding VS Spinning during power workouts

I am relatively new to power workouts, and I have been faced with the dilemma of grinding vs spinning in order to reach my target power. I typically like to have an avg Cadence between 90-95, but in order to meet my target power I have been in a tougher gear which brings my cadence down to an avg of 85-89. If I try to spin at 90-95 my power shoots up too high for what is required for the interval, and if I shift gears to an easier gear my power goes down below the target and I spin too fast at 95-105. It’s almost like a I need a “sweet spot” gear that I don’t have. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for any input.

1 Like

What is your setup? Do you use a smart trainer? A power meter?

1 Like

I ride outdoors on a Giant TCR Advanced SL with the Assioma Favero pedals.

Sounds like you would benefit from doing these particular intervals on the perfect gradient with the perfect gear. This is, by definition, going to be difficult to find.

Maybe you need a cassette with closer gear ratios? Maybe you can find a particular stretch of road that lends itself well to your power and cadence goal? Or maybe, doing these efforts under imperfect conditions is a good thing and will train you to be more versatile - something that people training exclusively indoors might lack!

1 Like

I guess I never looked into a cassette with closer gear ratios. Always assumed they were just a standard. That’s basically what I feel though, that I need a gear in between.

1 Like

I had a similar post recently about this. I have the exact same issue on threshold or longer vo2max efforts on flat roads. Can’t keep cadence at even 85. Usually dips down to 75 to keep power relatively consistent. This is vs. indoors where I do 90-100 on these normally. And outside on hills I can more easily hit target power.