Goals, events, and training

I, like many people, use events to aid my training motivation and discipline.

In 2020 my goal was for one event every 4-6 weeks, but that didn’t happen. I had signed up for a sportive in the end of March, but am now told that’s likely canceled.

Of course I always like time on the bike, and enjoy the process of getting stronger however in a season with very few ‘goal events’ I’m interested in how you all have shifted the motivation for training.

TLDR, what are your non-event goals.

Sorry if I’m late to the boat on this one, I’m new to TR and the forum :slight_smile:

Tim

1 Like

I’m missing the CX season, but training in hope of some TTs in the spring - am not a regular Tester, so that’s a new challenge for me. If the events don’t come off, I’ll just ride some local courses by myself to see what times I can turn in. Next summer I’d also like to have a go at a sub 5-hour 100 miler.

I also have a couple of local Strava segments (1-3 minute hills) where I stand a chance of making the overall top 10…which isn’t bad considering I’m closer to 50 than 40.

2 Likes

I’m also generally pretty motivated by the training process anyway - and apart from hard power metrics I like the feeling of just being able to cruise further and faster when I’m out riding.

1 Like

Thanks, yeah I like the feeling of progressing etc. For me it’s more about ensuring consistency!

Thanks @jb0980 , I’ll have a read through.

1 Like

I have a handful of 20 minute-ish strava climbs nearby that I like to do several times a year as performance benchmarks. Also a few big local routes, mostly just training to survive them motivates! 5 hour century is on my list for the yea as well. For events that are canceled Ive tried to create a similar event or even ride the same route on the same date. You may be able to get a friend, spouse, or friends spouse to sag along the course or at least set up a water stop for one of your own DIY events.