and I am new to watt based training,
watt technology
and to TR Triathlon plans.

Which percentage of my FTP
should I target
or do you recommend for
a. TT 15 k (all out)
b. TT 34 k (all out)
c. OD 40 k (followed by a hopefully - again - fast 10 k triathlon run)?

In April my first TT (15-34 k, flat course, all out)
and OD tris (bike split of 40 k, mostly flat courses, obviously followed by running)
are scheduled till octobre.

I am a relatively weak triathlon biker
(currently 185 FTP, 70 kg, 186 cm, 2,6w/kg: that’s why I turned to TR plans and watt systems)
with an overproportional part of slow twitch fibres
and a relatively strong triathlon runner (39-42 min/10 km in Tris).

Last season
(before I started TR and wattage training in decembre)
my non drafting 40 k tri split duration time

• depending on wind and the topography of the course -
    varies between 68 min and 80 min,
    speed (of course depending on wind/topography)
    varies between 30 to 33 km/h.

Thx a lot.:pray:

Keep moving and happy training

Jo

1 Like

Hi Jo!

Here’s a generally agreed upon table of percent of FTP that you should target for the below distances:

Race distance % of FTP
Sprint 90–105%
Olympic 85–95%
Half-Ironman 75–85%
Ironman 65–80%

A Sprint Distance Tri would have a 20km TT, and the Olympic Tri would fit your 40km TT well. For the 34km TT, you’ll want to target somewhere around 90-95% FTP.

I hope this helps!

3 Likes

Great.

Thx a lot!

Hey Larry,