For MTB Riders, ShockWiz, worth it?

Looking to get my suspension on my Scalpel dialed in and ShockWiz looks promising. Anyone here have experience positive or negative about them?

I rented one from my local shop- which is probably the best option for most people. Spent a day at my local trails dialing it in and was well worth it for me.
I think it’s a good option for those of us that don’t want to tinker too much or have a ton of experience.

If you go the rental route I would read up beforehand and plan on some trails that represent what you normally ride just so you don’t spend a bunch of time at the trailhead just figuring it out.

3 Likes

I don’t want to get into the weeds here, but those things really aren’t very accurate. I used to work as a suspension technician and I wouldn’t recommend them. The Scalpel doesn’t have much going on in terms of adjustments available, so once you have set sag, rebound is a personal preference, there’s not much in terms of compression damping adjustments. Really, you’re looking at volume spacers and double-checking your sag.

What are you experiencing on your rides that you’d like to improve from a suspension set up standpoint?

2 Likes

I’m firmly in the “I don’t know what I don’t know” camp at this point. My last full suspension bike was a K2/Proflex Oz. with a noleen steel spring shock out back and Marzochi fork up front.

My Scalpel is the 2021/22 Carbon 2 so Ocho 100 up front and Fox Float DPS out back. I got a shock pump and have put the pre-load up to the range suggested in “the manual” and added a click of rebound on each end because I’m just north of 200lbs with gear and hydropak. I honestly don’t know if I have it in the right zone or not, but checking sag is something that I haven’t done yet.