Flat pedals for longer gravel rides?

I’ve been riding for 3 years and always used SPD’s. I’m having toe pain that I can’t sort out, but there’s a big gravel event in just over a week (64 miles). I can’t do it with my current SPD set up.

Last Saturday I got 60 miles or so through a 112 mile ride when the toe pain started, and I had to take my shoes off every 15 miles just to finish. Sunday the pain started 40 or so miles into a 77 mile ride. Today, I couldn’t make it 20 without pain. I have a few new pairs of shoes on the way … I want to see if a different fit and stiffer sole will help. I’m also thinking of trying SPD-SL just to see if the bigger platform helps in my case.

This leaves me in a tough spot for some upcoming gravel events. I’m thinking of trying flat pedals pedals Five Ten shoes in the hopes that I can move my foot around more and find the right position for longer rides on gravel. Is a week enough to get used to flats and Five Ten shoes if I can get some decent mileage in? Will I be asking for trouble going this route? Any tips?

I would be more concerned if you were going the opposite direction on such short notice…from flat pedals to clipless.

I don’t see much risk in going to flat pedals in this situation.

4 Likes

Yup, not a bad situation overall. Picking good pedals and shoe for decent grip is important for cornering and rough stuff. But it sounds like you probably have that covered.

I will mention that you should consider your saddle height. Different shoe and pedal combos can lead to the need for slight saddle height adjustment. 5-10mm is not uncommon and can be up or down depending on a range of factors (pedal and shoe stack height differences, as well as rider ‘ankling’ during pedaling). So be sure to check that and don’t assume it is good to go.

4 Likes