Fish Oil Supplements - Whats your take?

Hi all,

as a trained pharmacist I don’t believe much in supplements or all different kind of little helpers, yet fish oil is something that comes up consistently.

Whats your take? Do you take supplements…why? How much?

Curious to hear
Sina

Here’s my go-to for supplement information:

As someone who is also naturally a bit suspicious of supplements, I take fish oil, Vitamin D, Calcium, and potassium.

1 Like

As an environmental chemist, I stay far away from fish oil. (and that’s beside the whole supplement topic).
The TL:DR: Fish oil has crazy high levels of all kinds of environmental contaminants.

I’ll try to explain a bit more in detail:
There have been many environmental contaminants we unleashed over the past 60 years or so. Many of them banned or restricted by now. Things like DDT, PCBs or Dioxins. The problem with these compounds (and many others) is that they don’t degrade, meaning they stay around for decades. And they are fat soluble, which means they are not easily excreted by organisms, but rather accumulate in fatty tissue.
This brings me to the phenomenon of biomagnification. It goes like this: contaminants start out with relatively low levels, say dissolved in the seawater or bound to bits of organic matter. Then small organisms (Krill and whatnot) consume a lot of the contaminated stuff, and since the contaminants don’t easily leave the body, it starts to concentrate in their tissue (this is called bioaccumulation). Then fish eat a lot of the smaller organisms, with the same effect. The contaminants concentrate even more in the tissue of the fish. Then bigger fish eats lots of smaller fish, and even bigger fish eats smaller fish… and so on. All this basically means some contaminants concentrate up the food chain, often by orders of magnitude.