First 24 hr race: New Bike; Power Meter; Both; Neither?

Background: ahead of a hilly 24 hour race at the Nürburgring in July, my first, the N+1 demon is suggesting I get a new bike. This would save 3.5kgs over my current bike—confession: I could lose 3.5kg and likely not drop so much as a watt— and be somewhat more aero, as well as (possibly) a touch more comfortable as its full carbon rather than alloy. The new bike would be a demise-of-Wiggle bargain rather than something I really need; however the old bike is 12 years old and the carbon forks could just possibly be nearing end of life. Given the speeds at the race (>100km/h for the faster riders once per lap) this is a minor worry.

Not getting a new bike would be a sneaky way of justifying buying a power meter. I’m new to serious training but have become addicted to watts having bought a smart trainer. The thought of making long Z2 outdoor rides more productive (I train on heart rate outdoors at the moment) , as well as enabling outdoor, power-based intervals, is tempting but I think the real question is the extent to which it will help me in the race. Will it help me not to go too hard early on and will that help be worth the psychological damage inflicted later by watching my power fall off a cliff as my heart rate soars?

What would you do?

1 Like

Can you afford it? I think after 12 years, getting a new bike is not unreasonable. Especially if you’re going to get a lot of use out of it - which sounds like you will do, with a 24h race!

A new bike will mean you can upgrade to modern brakes, gears etc, which will also make repairs a bit easier a few years down the line.

As it’s pretty likely the Wiggle bikes will be without customer support/returns etc soon, I’d make extra sure the size and geometry will fit you.

Regarding a power meter - same again, if you an afford it, why not?

2 Likes