Failed workouts in final week before rest

I’ve been a TR user for a fair while but this is my first time working through a plan.

I’m into the week before the rest week, you know, the horrible one, and have failed two workouts - quit after the first interval.

The first of these two (A VO2max workout, 3mins at 120% x6), I redid it the next day without any problems.

The second of these two I did last night, will have another bash tonight ahead of a long outdoor ride tomorrow in lieu of workout three).

The feeling was of basically not having any power in the legs, so I’m putting it down to tiredness. There’s probably reasons for this I won’t bore you with (bad bowels/small child in the house that shouts all night).

Is it worth pushing through these at lower intensity, or should I just take the extra day, if I can still get all three in in the same week?

The fact that you were able to do the workout ok the following evening shows that it was just fatigue/bad day that caused the failure rather than not being able to do it. Hence just take extra rest day.

1 Like

There is undoubted benefit in turning down the intensity of a VO2 session and completed all the intervals - unless of course you are unwell etc.

I would be tempted to try the session and see how it goes. If it gets hard tone it down a bit, if it gets impossible just bail out and rest. If you do get a session in you will feel a lot better mentally about it afterwards.

Co-incidentally I had to turn a 3min * 6 @ 120% workout this week and after 2 intervals I had to turn it down to 95% and still struggled a bit. Looking at it afterwards I still got in 19:30 of VO2 so rather than feeling annoyed I was quite pleased I had gutted it out and achieved some training benefit from the session.

1 Like