Drive side only vs Power2Max on new bike with clearance issue

I have a new Lynskey GR300 frame on the way and my LBS is going to build it up with GRX Di2. Due to clearance issues, I can’t run a left side crank power meter as I did on my old bike. Both my current bikes have 4iiii crank power meters and as far as I can tell they read very closely to each other (did some testing with my Kickr and swapping the PMs on the same frame to look for differences).

For the new frame, my options are a right side GRX install for $300 on top of the crank so roughly $550 all together, or a Power2Max for $820. The GRX install would be cheaper, but could take a while to get installed. If I have a big L/R imbalance, it might really show up using left side on one bike and right on the other.

On the other hand, I think the P2M will give L/R and is in stock now. My frame should be here early March and I want to build it as soon as I can (patience is not my strong suit!! :smile: )

Any thoughts? Thanks!!!

I’d go with the P2Max. I have one on my mountain bike and love it… I also have a single sided crank power meter on my gravel bike and I don’t like it nearly as much from an accuracy perspective.

Good luck🤘

2 Likes

@batwood14

How does the L/R measurement work with the Power2Max? It looks like I need an upgrade if I want independent L/R?

Yeah if you get the NG eco (the cheaper one) then you have to pay $50 (I think) to get the L/R measurement. It’s also good to keep in mind that it won’t be a true LR measure like a dual power pedal would give. It just looks at your crank position and then assigns the power to each leg. So it won’t know if you pull up with your left and push with your right or just push with your right.

2 Likes

@mwglow15

So if you don’t get the upgrade, but it’s measuring at the spindle, does that mean it’s still effectively giving you the right total power (as opposed to left x2 on a crank) even if they don’t split L/R?