Cyclocross wheels - silly questions alert!

Hi all,

After a good few years of time trials and road biking, I’ve just started cyclocross. Got a 2nd hand bike and after a few races which I’ve really enjoyed (near the back and suffering…but enjoying!) I’m looking to make few upgrades, in particular to the wheels (current set are Mavics and weigh about 2.4kg). However these are disc brake wheels which after years of road bikes and rim brakes are a mystery to me (I’m actually a decent mechanic on road bikes but never had disc brakes before).

With this in mind are there any things I need to consider when comparing and buying disc brake wheelsets. May seem obvious but do they come in different sizes (I know they are 700c wheels but hub width?), axles (mine have QR at moment…are all wheelsets suitable for QR?), brake rotars (Can I just take them off my existing wheels - will they fit any new wheels?)

Sorry for numpty questions!
Also any other things to consider for cx wheels and any recommendations ( based in UK and budget only about £200-£250 max). Would consider hand builds or 2nd hand but as can see don’t know much about good/bad options!

Any advice much appreciated!

Brake rotors: there are two standards, 6-bolt and centerlock. Just see if your rotors are attaches with 6 bolts to the hub or seem to have slot on directly. (Theres an adapter to use 6bolt on centrelock hubs, but I haven’t tried that).
The rotors come in different sizes, 160mm and 140mm diameter are common for cx bikes. Sram also have hydraulic and mechanical specific discs.
You can reuse your old rotors on new wheels. When you change rotors and/or pads, you need to brake them in first. Pads also come in different versions.

Hubs/QR - most decent hubs allow for conversion between thru-axle and QR with adapters. Its obviously something to check/ask before buying.