Cyclocross Tubeless (Rims, Tyres)

Need to start thinking about Cyclocross equipment for this year. I got shot of my tubular wheels last year. Fed up with the faff changing tyres, and fear of rolling a tub, which luckily never happened in a race but happened a couple of times with pre-race checks. Always went CX tape and glue ‘Belgian’ method but still had issues.

I plan on building up a tubeless set this year, can anyone recommend a rim to base this on that will be as solid as possible at low pressures and with cx tyre widths (32/33)? Maybe thinking Stans Grail MK3 but not sure if there are better options. I’ll probably build up on Hope Pro 4 or RS4 hubs. Will also need to think about decent mud tyres to go with.

I have no experience on Stans, but see a lot of them and have gotten recommendations for them. We get 1-2 muddy races per season so I end up running an all-purpose tire (Schwalbe X-Ones) and make due. Less hassle changing tires when you have one set.

Friends have run Donnelly PDX with very mixed results, generally favoring the opinion that they aren’t a great mud tire. Mud is always a crapshoot (sometimes it’s thick and sticky, other times it’s soupy and doesn’t collect).

1 Like

I ran Stan’s Crest for a couple seasons. I forget the difference between them and the Grails but had no issues with them whatsoever. Was able to run pressures around 20 psi with no problems. FOr context, at the time I was around 68 kg. Good luck!

1 Like

Another vote for x-ones. Pretty happy with them for general racing and riding. Did switch to Michelin Mud for super muddy race that was half running. On the rideable bit had a lot more traction then others on the Vitoria intermediates.

1 Like

Yep, this was before they introduced the BOS–which looks a lot better than the PDX.

1 Like