CX bike recommendations for absolute beginner

Hi everyone

I’ve decided to give cx a go and would appreciate some advice on what sort of bike to start out on.

Ideally, I’m looking for an entry-level race bike - I have no interest in gravel or using it to commute on etc, so I’m fine with aggressive geometry/limited tyre clearance etc

I’m also on a tight budget, so have about £1500 to spend (plus I wouldn’t really want to spend anything more in case I don’t enjoy it!).

I’ve read that cx bikes are sized differently- is that right? I’m 5’ 10 and usually ride a 56cm bike in the road, but let me know if I should be looking at something smaller.

I’ve also been looking at second hand bikes - obvs would go for disc brakes, but seen some with excellent spec but with cantis - is it so much of a disadvantage to have cantis, or should they be avoided at all costs?!

Any recommendations or tips for a newbie like me much appreciated - thanks all

Canyon Inflite would be a great pick

1 Like

Welcome to the muddy side :slight_smile:

If you just want to give it a go, you can race on nearly any bike in the local races in the UK - if you have a hardtail mtb, that’d be fine for a first race.

If not, it depends on your aspirations - do you expect to race a full season, and make this a longer-term part of cycling? If so, I’d buy a new bike. If you’re not sure, or you’ll likely only do a few races now and then for fun, a second hand bike is absolutely fine. Cantis are worse than discs when it’s wet, but absolutely fine for the odd race, so if you can get a good bike cheap, do that.

Otherwise, bikes are a bit more expensive at the moment, but there should be plenty in your budget. I did my first races on a Planet x London Road, or they have a proper cross bike too. Also some of the other UK brands have cross bikes, the problem at the moment is often whether they have any stock.