Bleeding Shimano issues

I’m new to disc brake world.

After bleed the brakes my levers don’t retract really. My brakes are work but the levers don’t snap back.

My brakes rub but I can put my levers forward and the brakes will stop rubbing.

I’ve tried bleeding them twice and not sure what I’m doing wrong, I’ve watched videos and everything. People make it look so easy.

Any advice will help I’m sure it something simple.

It sounds to me as if air got into your system.

To help you, you have to give us a bit more information here: are you talking about a drop bar bike or a mountain bike? (I assume it is the former since mountain bikes have been on disc brakes for close to two decades now, but I want to make sure.) Are you using Shimano’s bleed kit or a third-party bleed kit? What bike do you have? Do you use a work stand?

It actually is, especially on flatbar bikes. On road bikes it can be trickier, because the hose routing can be a bit more involved and getting all the air bubbles out is bit harder.

I have road bike drop bars. I’m using bleed kit from bleed zone.

Have you seen the Park Tool video? It’s super helpful and covers the process pretty well.

few things come to mind…

Possibly incomplete bleed. Id re-do the lever bleed and see if that helps. Try and get the bike vertical if thats reasonable so the bleed funnel is as high north as possible
Are the pistons dirty? can cause friction on the seal that may slow down retraction

+1, one of the most common issues I’ve experienced with disc brakes from all brands.

I’ll usually:

1. Wash the bike first, let dry
  2. Remove wheel and pads
  3. Clean the entire caliper assembly with alcohol
  4. Carefully pull the levers to push the pistons out slightly
  5. Clean pistons with brake fluid - helps dissolve dried up old fluid and also lubricates pistons
  6. Push the pistons back in with pad tool
  7. Clean again with alcohol
  8. Reassemble.
2 Likes

Hello,

Thanks for all the advice everyone.