Are more watts always faster?

Does a higher power number always equate to faster speed? For example, is 310 watts in Gear A faster than 300 watts in any other gear? I’m new to riding with a power meter, so any insight would be appreciated.

Yes, assuming everything else is constant. More watts is more speed.

Speed = power (watts) * cadence * gearing

You can check out the power / cadence calculator here to play with variables.

3 Likes

Some aerodynamic drag effect in extreme cadence examples, ie. 50 cadence v 120 cadence, in certain yaw angles and wind speeds might mean that it’s possible 300 watts is faster than say 303 watts, in the real world. Or maybe even greater. Not something that’s been tunnel tested much but we do have this:

University of Melbourne study:

Both the drag coefficient and the turbulent intensity obtain their peak values when the crank is in the near vertical position. This is to be expected as the blockage due to the leg is highest when the crank is vertical.

Assuming aerodynamics and weight stay same…then yes. More watts = more speed

Welcome bmcd70 :slightly_smiling_face:

No…but to most intents and purposes, yes.

Drive chain efficiency is the issue, a straight chain from a middle sprocket to ring is more efficient in transmitting power than an outermost or innermost sprocket (highest or lowest in your cassette). But this is marginal gains territory - I regard it as irrelevant to my cycling.

Yeah, so don’t worry about it. More watts = more speed.

If you like to worry about stuff (as I do) worry about aerodynamics. There’s measurable gains for normal situations there.

1 Like