Anyone experiencing clonking/clinking sounds while turbotraining?

Hi Everyone!

First question on the forum, and recent TR adopter here.

I started training on a turbo trainer (and joined TR) just 2 weeks ago. I set my carbon mountain bike up on the turbo trainer as I don’t have a road bike, took the ramp test, and the next day did my first training session. No problems there. On my second training session I started to hear clonking sounds from my bike, that sounded like they were coming from the general area of the bottom bracket. They were timed to my pedalling cadence, and would show up for a few minutes, then go away. The sound is what I would imagine the internal cables hitting the inside of the downtube would sound like.

There is no play in the bottom bracket, and I cannot hear any sound when I ride the bike outside, so I’m wondering if at certain pedalling cadences I’m producing some resonant frequency that makes the cables (all internal) move and hit the downtube rhythmically.

Early in the week I took my carbon bike off the turbo trainer and put on an old aluminium mountain bike I have. I’ve ridden it for three sessions, and low and behold, at times during the ride I will also get rhythmic sounds in time with my cadence, only this time they sound like clink clink clink, cos the tubes are aluminium. The curious thing here is that this bike has all external cables, and they run along the top tube, so I can hold them down with my hand and confirm that they’re not vibrating and hitting the tube.

Has anyone else experienced this or something similar?

I’m for sure not an expert, but I have weird noises from my Elite Suito quite often. For me it seems to be coming from the trainer’s flywheel, I’m guessing from being not quite perfectly balanced. I’ll get it dialed in by balancing the trainer and then eventually it will move after a while and the noise will start up again.