2022 Kona Qualification Plan

Hello TR. I wanted to run my 3 year plan past you all and see what you think about my goal to qualify for Kona in 2022 (or possibly 2021).

Some quick background on myself, I have 15 years of marathon experience (3:14 PR and 1:27 HM PR @215lbs) and quite a big aerobic base there to launch off. I’ve always incorporated some speedwork in my running but mostly I just plodded along racking up miles. In 2014 I began dabbling in triathlon, with Ironman Wisconsin in 2016 as my first attempt at that distance. (12:05). Since then I’ve shed some weight (down to 192lbs or 87kg), gotten more experience on the bike, used TR to get my FTP W/kg up to 3.5 from around 2.9 this time last year. This year I have been competitive in the local triathlon scene in the 35-39AG (I turn 35 tomorrow), taking home some hardware in just about every local race I do, including a 4:47 on a very hilly HIM course. This last weekend I did Ironman Florida where I came in at 10:27, though I was suffering through a cold that really derailed me on the run as I was having issues breathing and GI issues I attribute to that nasty nasal drainage you get with a cold.