2018 Specialized Diverge and Roubaix. Want power meter. Only thing available is pedals? Advice

I currently own a 2018 Specialized Roubaix elite with a rs510 crankset and am looking at buying a 2018 Specialized Diverge comp with a praxis alba 2D crankset.

I would like to get a power meter for both bikes. I can get a 4IIII’s for the Roubaix but nothing at all exists for a praxis Alba 2D in the market place that I can find.

So today I started thinking about the favero assioma pedals. Until now Ive only every used Shimano spd pedals or flats. Should I buy some look keo easy clipless pedals for $40.00 to try them out. Are they hard to use. Any downside in switching from spd to look pedals. Any reason to not run them on a gravel bike. I have no experience at all with any road pedal ever. Just nervous about the change.

thanks much.

I’d see if the shop would be willing to swap out the crank for a model that has a removable spider or one that fits the 4iii

Thx. The problem is that there is the sub compact of the crankset. The rings on the diverge are 48-32. Shimano does not make a 48-32 compatible crankset. I could go 50 34 I guess.

For a gravel bike, road pedals will technically work, but if you have to walk at all it is going to be a bad experience. On MTB pedals, the cleat is recessed so that you can walk around like normal shoes. On road shoes, the sole is completely smooth and the cleat sticks 4-5 mm off of the sole of the shoe, so you’re basically tip-toeing around on the cleat.

For road, it is not a big deal since you are walking very little and on smooth surfaces, but on gravel, where you may need to walk a rocky or muddy section, they are not the best choice.

I think @stevemz has the right adea with seeing if you can swap out the crankset for something more power meter friendly :slight_smile:

If you can swap for the Praxis direct mount crank, you can run a spider based NGeco 110bcd and get the rings you need.

1 Like