(Yet Another) Help Me Choose a New Bike?

Hi all,

A little background. I’ve been riding for around 2 years, and a little more seriously for 18 months or so when I ended up buying a Neo smart trainer. I mostly ride with a combination of Zwift and TrainerRoad indoors – 2 ANT+ dongles. I have TrainerRoad in minimal mode running ERG to control my trainer, following a training plan (I finished a full mid-volume plan a couple of months ago and starting at sweet spot base again), and Zwift above for something to look at besides a graph.

I just purchased a pair of Favero Assioma pedals, as I’ve found it frustrating attempting to ride outdoors using RPE, without being able to see my power – and calculate outdoor TSS, etc.

So here’s the kicker – the entire time, I’ve been using a really terrible Giant Defy 4 (2016). Yep, I have a smart trainer and pedals worth more than my bike. I’ve probably spent more on cycling kit than my road bike. I’ve had ongoing issues with shifting despite replacing derailleur hanger, going to multiple mechanics, purchasing and using a DAG tool, replacing chain & cassette. I had a bike fit several months ago (Cycling 3DMA, fitter is a physiotherapist), but still find indoor rides of up to 1.5 hours a bit difficult – I spend 99% of my time indoors on the tops, with little use of the hoods or drops. Not entirely sure if this is purely fit related, or perhaps flexibility as well. I have issues with anchoring my sit bones properly, too. Oh, the Defy is heavy too – weighing in at around 10 kg.