Thinking of going Tubeless on Dt swiss ARC 1400

I love my deep section (62) Dt swiss ARC 1400 Wheels, on my Canyon Aerod, they look awesome and sexy, however getting the tyre off when fixing a puncture out on a ride is a bloody nightmare, almost to the point that I end up injuring my hand in the process. It takes so long to fix a puncture compared to my other wheels on my more endurance focussed road bike that I’m second guessing taking it out at times in fear of a puncture.

So I’m now looking to take the plunge into the mystical world of tubeless tyres. Does anyone on here have any recommendations or experience going tubeless on these kind of deep section wheels. I’m looking to understand if there is a perfect match for my DT Swiss.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as im a total newb in this field.

Outer width determines tire size to keep things aero:

so something like a 25x622 or 26x622 is a good size to preserve aero.

No other real consideration that I can think of outside racing vs training tire… we have a lot of road debris and after trying all the fast racing tubeless tires and still having to deal with roadside repairs I ended up going with Pirelli Cinturato Velo TLR as daily training tire on my Enve 5.6 disc wheels (similar outer dimension and wheel depth). On my second set of Pirelli and they are pretty much bulletproof and yet still roll well although I’m giving up rolling resistance. The Pirelli roll better and more puncture resistance versus Conti Gatorskins (tubed tires). For racing I prefer the feel of Specialized S-Works Turbo RapidAir and Conti GP 5000 TL are good too.

1 Like