Road Tubeless: Teach me please!

I’m new to road tubeless and I need advice from someone experienced. The internet is stuffed with unhelpful polarized opinions and even my LBS can’t give me a decisive answer. Your help would be appreciated! Here it goes :

I managed to get a sub-millimeter puncture on the middle of sidewall of a 6 weeks old Zipp Tangente RT28 tubeless tire mounted on the new Zipp 303 Firecrest MY21 tubeless rims, after rolling on a 1 inch diameter rock with sharp edges. I’m using Stan’s NO TUBES regular latex-based scellant.

Upon impact, the tire completely deflated and the scellant did not provide protection. It’s unclear to me if the tire “burped” or if the air escaped from the puncture, but it was fast. I stopped, removed the wheel, held it horizontally with the puncture facing down, and shooke it slowly sideways so the scellant could do its job on the sidewall. I finally managed to reinflate the wheel (I was keeping it vertical when inflating) to an acceptable pressure using a 6 inch-long “ultra-mini” pump (I avoided using CO2 not to wreck the scellant), and rode 500 meters before having to stop again. I repeated the process, and this time I was able to make it back home (about 8 km).

The tire had deflated quite a bit upon arrival. Did the same process again, but this time with a track pump. Pressure held well, so I decided to give it hell to make sure it was safe by hopping with the bike 5-6 times. The scellant plug popped out. Did the process again, hopped about 10 times with the bike. This time, the puncture remained sealed and pressure held well.

I then went for a 120 km ride with the same tire. I left with 57 PSI and came back with 54 PSI. Zipp recommends 56 PSI for the front wheel for my weight.

But now I’m nervous : I have a 200 km gran fondo coming up in a week, and I’m scared to ride the same tire.