Pedal drills - a note of caution

Thought I should mention this as a possible caution. I started a trial of TR in April with a 1-month base training block. I followed all the drills included in workouts. At the time I found some of the clock drills difficult, and the 1-legged ones actually quite painful, but I persisted hoping to get the benefit,

I week after finishing the trial I was doing my usual 3 -times weekly run of 5 miles when I had a shooting pain in my left hamstring. Sure enough a scan revealed a grade 2 hamstring tear.

I’ve been running for 10 years regularly and cycling a lot for 15, including indoor trainer work, but never had the slightest niggle in my hamstrings. Painful quads yes, but never even noticed hamstrings. I’ve also been doing Pilates for 13 years which involves routine hamstring stretches.

So, coincidence? Or could it be that pedal drills put stress on hamstrings that they’re just not accustomed to. In any case I had to lay off running for months, although could resume cycling after a few weeks. I’m back on TR as a fully signed-up user and have started an 8-month block of endurance work, but from now on I intend to ignore the pedal drills and hope there’s no recurrence.

Maybe you had the tear before doing the one leg drills? These shouldn’t be painful. A bit awkward and your hip flexor will fatigue.

3 Likes

Agree I’ve found them awkward but never painful. They’re also done at fairly low watts from what I remember.

1 Like

I’m in base and recently started doing one leg drills. My hip flexors lasted about 30 seconds on each side, for the first couple of rides that I did this drill.

1 Like

Possibly. Would be a bit of a coincidence considering my history. Also, the TR drills were the only things different in my exercise routine that I’ve been following for many years,