Motorsport track racing tips?

Hi, any tips on racing a crit on a motorsport race track?
Races are 1 hour long events with avg speed of 45/47 km/h(29/29 mph). As I am still a beginner with only one year of racing longer events and being a smaller rider (ftp 255 watts, 4 w/kg, 64 kg/141 lbs) my primary goal to start with is to finish in peloton within pretty much fastest guys in my country. So are they any tips for racing on a road track on a pan flat course where speeds are high and where there is pretty much no breaking involved?
This race is being organized every week so margin for error is high. I am planning to race every 2 weeks to not totally ruin my training plan.

Hopefully some of these Crit videos help you!

1 Like

From my experience doing this it is quite stressful. Racing tracks will have long flowing corners (in cycling terms) and probably long straights, and because it was so wide I found that the washing machine effect of riders constantly coming up the outside and falling back inside the bunch to be massive, much bigger than a normal crit or road race. Which makes fighting for wheels the whole race a bit of a losing battle. If you can get a lift to the front on the outside take it, otherwise i would say don’t worry too much about fighting for every wheel and pick your moments to move to the front.

Because, generally the corners are longer, it really pays to be on the outside of the bunch going through the corners I find, so you can carry more speed, and this makes it easier to sit at the back as well. Watch out for people misjudging the longer corners and drifting from an inside line to an outside line, this caught myself and a few other people out.

Unlikely for a break to make it as well if the pack is well matched, because you can never get out of sight and the space on the track makes it easy to get a chase together.