Lowest ftp on tr

My wife did a a ramp test and her ftp was something like 58. The power never really changed for her during the ramp. I did a test ride and the power did change for me on a workout. I manually set her ftp to 100 and then I saw real changes on the trainer and she noticed the intensity changing too.

So, is there a bottom that would make te not really change intensity and just be a flat line. I have the feeling that if this is true is somewhere in the 60w range

Different trainers have different wattage floors. I don’t think it’s TR’s fault in terms of controlling things. I might have this wrong, but I think one way to help is to put her bike in the big ring little cog (tallest gear) as that would increase the flywheel speed.

I’m no expert though.

2 Likes

Here’s an article from TR on this issue. Each smart trainer has it’s own wattage floor. My Tacx Neo 2T for instance is 30 watts, others are higher.

Smart Trainer: Wattage Floor

4 Likes

That sounds like a textbook wattage floor problem. You’ll need to list the trainer type for more info.
What FTP setting was used for the ramp test? If it was set to a really low wattage to begin with I can’t imagine the 6% ramps would be very noticeable.

At the end of the day I don’t think it’ll matter much as long as she keeps turning the pedals. At 58 watts 120% VO2 work is going to be under a 12 watt bump. Not a huge difference by any means.

I wish I could get my wife on a bike. It’s too hard to go for a jog together with a little one in tow.

1 Like

Hopefully this doesn’t offend anyone, I’m genuinely curious, but is an FTP below 70W or so realistic for an adult? If I figure a small adult at 40kg and 2 W/kg, it would still be 80W. Maybe I’m answering my own question there, since at 1.5 W/kg it would be 60W…

2 Likes

What trainer is it?

Wattage floor usually is the lowest resistance a trainer can deliver. When the power target rises above the wattage floor, the trainer should work like normal.