KICKR V5 power discrepancies

I’m new to smart trainers and I’ve been I’ve been enjoying both TR and Zwift since I bought a KICKR (my first trainer) a couple of weeks ago. But curiosity got the better of me and I decided to compare the KICKR with my trusty power2max Type S and I found that it’s consistently reading high.

For example, here’s a Goddard -4 I did the other day in ERG mode: DC Rainmaker Analyzer

The KICKR seems to track the p2m quite well, but is consistently around 10 W high.

And a chilled out Zwift session from today for some recovery (ignore the gap in the middle when ELEMNT paused itself): DC Rainmaker Analyzer

While the difference isn’t as obvious here (more like 5 W), but the KICKR’s readings are quite spiky and erratic in this case.

When I look at DCR’s analysis, it looks somewhat better behaved: DC Rainmaker Analyzer

Is this normal for a KICKR (or any smart trainer)? Am I just being too fussy?

P.S. I’m using the latest firmware (v4.2.1) on the KICKR.

1 Like

Sounds somewhat similar to the discussion in this thread:

Your Zwift/sim-mode workout seems fine to me, 5W isnt that much.

When I look at the TR workout, I see a couple of interesting things. Seems like PM and Kickr reads spot on between 4min and 8min (marked with yellow). It also seems like there maybe some power smoothing turned on in Wahoo app (marked with red).

I have had good success with doing a factory spindown post workout (when trainer is warm), my Kickr now reads very close to my PMs, but i still see som drift during a workout, most within the first 30-40 mins.

I would try a factory spindown and test more to see if you can find some kind of pattern. If you can it would also be great to test with an other PM too.

Thanks for looking :slightly_smiling_face:

Here’s today’s Ericsson session: DC Rainmaker Analyzer

This one seems a bit better behaved; the difference is consistently around 6 W this time, which seems more reasonable (ignoring the ITL bit at the beginning).