Flux S / Indoor Trainer on ERG Mode

Hi All, I have a flux S - i’ve had it about a year & did some training on it but never structured and not a huge amount of training at that…
Recently I started training consistently on TR… however, I have noticed that when pulling up to higher thresholds +290 watts… the trainer only seems to hold the power for a short time at a given cadence. In order to maintain the power output I seem to have to change gears otherwise I am spinning at 120+RPM to maintain the correct power to complete…
Is this an amateur error or a trainer issue? Or can someone provide guidance on how I can fix this… thks!

Have you calibrated the trainer and do you calibrate it often? If not, I would calibrate via either the TR software or the dedicated TACX app.

If that doesn’t resolve the issue, I would download the specific workout files and contact TACX (Garmin) directly. My Flux S started to have a similar issue and it was eventually replaced.

Thanks @PusherMan

I calibrate ever time before I train with the TR calibration so it rules that out.
Sounds like it might be a trainer issue… I was hoping it wasn’t this. I’ll try contacting Tacx… thks

Are you in a really low gear? I have a flux S and usually use it in a pretty low gear, and if I know the session is going to be 300+W for me then I usually go up a gear. I might be way off base here, but I think trainer’s have an upper and lower threshold for the amount of resistance they can apply to the flywheel so I don’t worry about it too much. I just try to be in the right gearing before the workout. If you’re in a higher gear and things aren’t stable, then I would go to Garmin.

On the big ring & in the middle cassette… I have to jump 2-3 gears to try and bring down the spinning.

Also I have noticed… I have to drop to the lowest gear on the back cassette to hit the suggested cadence between sets or threshold WO to try and get a smooth transition of power between the jumps… is this normal? thks