First Race CAT 5

Hey guys, looking for advice for my very first road race coming up in a couple of weeks in Oak Ridge Tennessee. As you can imagine I am starting out as a CAT 5 racer. I have been riding for a couple of years now and training with trainer road consistently for the past year. When not using trainer road I ride with a group of guys who are racers in various categories and have no problem riding in a group with them. I’m 5’5" weigh 124 lbs with an Ftp at 3.8 watts/kg. Is this suffiecent enough to handle a 27 mile road race that has 2 climbs? The first is 3-4min long half way through race at 5% grade and the other at the finish which is basically the same grade and length. Should I focus on just completing the event with the pack or trying to attack over the first climb and make it stick? I realize this may be unrealistic for my first ever race. Just looking for guidance and tips for my first event outside of group rides and training. 5 star podcast! You guys have gotten me through many indoor sessions!

All the best

Jake

great W per KG, but being so light means there will be some beasts in the race with a much higher FTP. Those guys will be able to keep you in check in my mind, so I would focus on sticking with everyone, having fun in your first race, then giving it your all on the last climb/finish.

3 Likes

Thank you for the advice! That’s kind of what I’ve been thinking as well. I figured there would be other riders who are much stronger and are only CAT 5 because they don’t have enough races to upgrade. Plus I wouldn’t do too well in the wind alone for very long because the flats and wind in general are hard for me being so small.

1 Like

As a lightweight rider myself… the key is to stay hiding behind bigger guys and make them pay when the gradient goes up!

Try having fun even if you get drop… everybody got drop at some point. That’s just the way it is.

4 Likes