Cylocross pedals - clogging in heavy mud

Hi, I wonder if anyone could help with some advice. The last couple of cyclocross races my pedals have got so clogged with mud i’ve been unable to clip in at all for the last few laps. I’m running shimano PD-MD520 spds. I’ve heard crank brothers egg beaters / candy are supposed to be better for mud clearing, has anyone had any luck with them? Or would the shimano xtr pedals be likely to perform any better? If anyone’s got any tips that would be great!

There are just certain conditions that will lead to this. Sometimes it’s unavoidable and everyone is dealing with the same issue. I have no experience with Crank Brothers, but I have heard on more than a few occasions that the egg-beaters are weak and eventually break. Sometimes it’s not that the pedal is clogged with mud, but your cleat and shoe are to blame.

I run the same pedals as you and when the mud is cold and thick and there is grass they clog. If the mud is warmer and it’s looser they are fine. Many pro’s run Shimano SPDs. You could look into Xpedo’s, they are another SPD style pedal that might be worth trying, but chances are you’ll come across conditions that will inevitably pose the same issue regardless of your pedal type.

1 Like

I’ve been running Eggbeaters for over 2 years, the same set without issues. I’ve ridden them in mud, sand and snow without issue. I’ve bashed them on rocks in Utah and Colorado and drug them through rain and mud for a week straight in Scotland. I’m a fan and I have no complaints. I do have their top end set, but they’ve been bomb proof for me.

2 Likes

Time ATAC are well regarded for their mid clearing capabilities.

2 Likes

Watching my wife race last weekend, most of the bikes (and riders) looked about ready for the skip, but there was another constant. Their pedals. Almost everyone in the ladies and men’s field we running Shimano SPDs, similar to yours.