Changing Crank Size Feels Weird

I have been riding a 58cm Trek 2100 for 10 years and always felt like it was to large. I always felt to stretched out. I’m 5’ 10". So I recently got a new 56cm Trek Emonda ALR. The fit is so much better and I love. The only weird thing is I feel like i’m peddling in tiny little circles. I was used to a 175mm crank length and still ride that on my trainer bike. And the new bike as 172.5mm crank length.

Anyone else notice a huge difference when changing crank length? I’m going to keep riding and see how it feels. But seriously thinking about going to a 175mm crank length since that is what I’m used to, and what I have on my trainer bike. Any thoughts?

Swapped from a 172.5 mm to a 165 mm and was so much more comfortable in the drops. Previously couldnt hold the low position for more than a minute. Felt like my knees were constantly hitting my chest when pedalling.

Im a smaller rider at 5’ 5".

Currently riding a 160mm crank from the previous 165mm and the only noticeable difference is that its much easier to spin (completely personal opinion).

The 1 advantage I would say is that I can go lower for longer since I swapped to a smaller crank. Definitely would not want to ride anything longer now.

3 Likes

I’m 5’5" too (really nice to see other shorties on here), and I flipped from 170 to 165 about 2 years ago. Loved it - smoother pedalling circle, faster cadence, more space around my torso. As the saddle came up 5mm, I could also get a bigger saddle to bar drop.
Then, about a year ago, I bought a new bike that came with 170s fitted (Canyon Ultimate).
It was like an instant leap in FTP. Huge power that just seemed to come from nowhere. Genuinely felt like superman.
So, I’m now back on 170s all round, and I’ve found that my cadence is just as smooth, and I have no trouble keeping my spin up.