Buying a new bike. One bike to rule them all

I have been riding a Specialized Allez for the past ten years which has had a few upgrades in its time.

It has served me well and is good to train on but I think the time has come to upgrade to something a bit special. When we are talking new bikes I wonder what percentage of people go for a 0% finance over three years and who just lay the cash down. Because we all know cycling gear can sky rocket into the thousands especially when you have companies pushing the new aero advantage.

My other question is if you had to pick one bike what would it be Aero or All Rounder?

Just want to gauge the response and if anybody has experience buying an expensive bike that would be helpful.

Thank You

2 Likes

I was in a similar situation to you: Iā€™ve been riding a 17 year old Merlin Extralight Ti road bike which Iā€™ve upgraded the components (now on eTap) over the years. Iā€™m finally getting a new bike - a Parlee Altum disc which Iā€™m picking up today.

I followed a self finance 0% approach: basically I saved money every month in a new bike fund for many years, and now Iā€™m using the bike fund to pay cash.

Good luck

6 Likes

I donā€™t take out a loan to buy bikes - I only buy what I can afford to pay for entirely.

If I was buying a single bike I would buy only an aero road bike - probably one of the new ones with disc brakes

5 Likes

If you have a look through the TR users bike thread, many of us have experience of buying expensive bikes. However Iā€™m not sure how many will want to be sharing how they manage to pay for them. How you choose to pay for it is a very personal decision.

Now thatā€™s out of the way, the fun part!! Buying a new bike!!!